Cuisine Fiend https://www.cuisinefiend.com

Chewing over

CuisineFiend's edible news.

Post-Christmas, or how to lose weight on leftovers.

Sat, 29 December, 2018

Christmas now has almost been and gone. Almost - but I am quite suspicious of that ‘twelve days of Christmas’ malarkey which is nothing else but the license to go out and quaff more cocktails followed by more chocolates on account of it ‘still being Christmas’. I guess people naturally want to extend the festive period and the dispensation to eat and drink more than it’s sensible.

If only they thought the season of goodwill should be extended too and were nice to each other! But no - this morning a bloke in a huge Beemer cheerfully reversed right into my nose, nearly, and didn’t make even a token apologetic gesture. I think these days, and outside of Christmas, all goodwill is reserved for kittens, dogs in hats and assorted young of random species. I am rather thoroughly sick of them by now.

The time between Christmas and New Year, those ‘twelve days’ (they aren’t even twelve!) are weird, especially in the UK. We have the Boxing Day on the 26th December, the day put aside for treating hangovers, eating leftovers and suffering pushovers who we’d carelessly invited round three months ago (the leftovers are certainly the nicest of the three). After the Boxing Day it’s a period of strange limbo: not many people go out to work, at least the likes I know (sheltered?). The sales are on but who on earth still cares about sales if the prices of everything are permanently reduced? Check out CamelCamelCamel…  And no one actually goes out to real shops any more.

Foodwise, we’re eating leftovers, as mentioned. Prior to Christmas, I always imagine the fantastic elaborate feasts I’ll be concocting, all involving curried turkey soup, salted pine nuts and filo pastry cigars (and that’s just one dish!), but when the 27th or 28th rolls around, cold meats with set gravy are frisbeed out of the fridge and onto the table, with the massive effort of cooking a broccoli head as a side demanding to be appreciated. When the carcasses are eaten clean bar a shred or two that nobody can stand the sight of any more - those duly go into the freezer to wait for a sausage roll opportunity - we crave things that basically cook themselves and contain no more than 5 calories.

Fish is one of those things (unless you overdid on the Christmas Eve fish pie, like me), especially if we can get away with no potatoes or rice and just a salad or a few green beans for side. Pasta, funnily enough, is another - especially if it’s meatless, it won’t bloat you. Always, ALWAYS include a tin of tomatoes on your pre-Christmas shopping list.

The best are vegetable concoctions - opening the fridge, finding a few borderline wilted veg, chucking them into a dish with butter and copious amounts of cheese, that’s the most rewarding post-Christmas food preparation.

But that semi-clean living lasts only for the limbo week until the 31st, when we unleash the inner party animal again and drink and eat as much as the waistbands and neighbours allow. And it’s good, all good - as long as we remember to renew our gym membership next week, the one we let drop in early March…

 

Recent blog posts

Sat, 29 December, 2018 Cuisine Fiend's Christmas Collection

Sun, 4 November, 2018 We are so angry all the time - why not just chill? Cook something?

Thu, 4 October, 2018 Food comes from all over the world – but why so illogically sourced?

Mon, 3 September, 2018 There's no such thing as healthy foods: it's all in the balance.

Thu, 2 August, 2018 Diets – I do it my way.

Mon, 2 July, 2018 Cooking at home - why is it such a chore for so many?

Sun, 27 May, 2018 The number of obese people is terrifying - and that's just Home Counties.

Tue, 24 April, 2018 Food fads, or the impossible things to eat: our unhealthy health obsessions.

Mon, 26 March, 2018 Kitchen disasters, or how I blowtorched the turkey.

Mon, 12 March, 2018 They know a thing or two about food in Shropshire.

Wed, 17 January, 2018 Deadly avocados, flying knives and golfer's elbow: kitchen is a dangerous place.

Tue, 19 December, 2017 Diets on hold: time for twinkling lights and brandy butter.

Fri, 24 November, 2017 Eating nose-to-tail - make mine a steak.

Thu, 2 November, 2017 Eat yourself to sleep - or not, actually.

Fri, 15 September, 2017 Everything in moderation - damn hard to achieve where food is concerned.

Sun, 13 August, 2017 Food on screen: they never eat properly on TV.

Wed, 5 July, 2017 Summer gluttony: does food always taste better when we're on holidays?

Thu, 18 May, 2017 Taste, likes and dislikes - unique to first world?

Wed, 19 April, 2017 Spring is here and so is spring food.

Mon, 3 April, 2017 Signature dish? I want to cook everything well!

Fri, 3 March, 2017 British strawberries in March? I think I'll wait till May.

Fri, 17 February, 2017 Making birthday cakes is fun, unless it all goes terribly wrong.

Fri, 3 February, 2017 Munching, grazing - why do we stuff our faces while watching telly?

Fri, 27 January, 2017 Winter warmers: what's the best comfort food when the weather's cold?

Fri, 20 January, 2017 Sugar is the public enemy now. But should we go cold turkey?

Fri, 6 January, 2017 What's really good and bad for us, nutrition-wise?

Sat, 29 December, 2018 Post-Christmas, or how to lose weight on leftovers.

Thu, 15 December, 2016 Post-truth, let's put up more twinkling Christmas lights!

Fri, 9 December, 2016 A cook's block, or how induction is a toy hob.

Fri, 2 December, 2016 Fasting is good, every now and then. It makes us appreciate taste and flavours.

Thu, 24 November, 2016 Boringly tidy or artistically messy in the kitchen? It might be boring, but order helps you focus.

Fri, 11 November, 2016 Gas or electrics - I'm trying hard not to hate my new induction hob.

Fri, 4 November, 2016 New kitchen - caveat emptor, and don't expect a dream come true.

Fri, 28 October, 2016 The rise of the hipster salad.

Fri, 21 October, 2016 No kitchen for two months - what shall I cook first in the new one?

Fri, 14 October, 2016 Cooking is easier, cheaper and more varied than eating out.

Wed, 5 October, 2016 Kitchen designers - my own Great Kitchen Design Off.

Tue, 27 September, 2016 Life without kitchen. Or bathroom, most of the time.

Wed, 21 September, 2016 British cakes - let's not forget the classics.

Thu, 15 September, 2016 Going out for breakfast? Just don't order scrambled eggs.

Wed, 7 September, 2016 Great British Bake Off - now I know why I'd never watched it.

Wed, 31 August, 2016 Eating out: posh nosh or good & simple? I go for value these days.

Thu, 10 August, 2017 Eat food. Not too much. Some of it raw.

Thu, 11 August, 2016 Is a steam oven THE must-have appliance? I'll stick to my stock pot with a steamer insert.

Thu, 4 August, 2016 How to lose weight: the Food Fascist and I

Thu, 28 July, 2016 Eating whilst sprawled on the sofa? Not for me.

Thu, 21 July, 2016 How to live and what to eat on a building site.

Thu, 14 July, 2016 Weird dietary trends - the pseudo-nutritional nonsense

Fri, 8 July, 2016 What are the most useful tools in cooking and baking life?

Thu, 30 June, 2016 The aftermath of the referendum - time to cook some bacon.

Thu, 23 June, 2016 'Easy recipe' - it's an oxymoron!

Fri, 17 June, 2016 Common currency? Don't know, but I know about Common Food!

Fri, 10 June, 2016 How to NOT EAT - totally non-expert advice on weight loss

Thu, 2 June, 2016 Rain, thunder and floods, but summer berries are arriving

Thu, 26 May, 2016 Pancakes are the nation's favourite food

Tue, 17 May, 2016 Spring is here

Fri, 13 May, 2016 It's a hard life being a food blogger

fiendishly...