Cuisine Fiend https://www.cuisinefiend.com

Chewing over

CuisineFiend's edible news.

Deadly avocados, flying knives and golfer's elbow: kitchen is a dangerous place.

Wed, 17 January, 2018

Avocados are famously the most common reason of food-related injuries. Apparently most people stab the stone to remove it and end up with ‘avocado hand’, as sneeringly named by surgeons; don't google the images if you're squeamish. The runner-up is the bagel and it’s earned its own medical acronym: BRI, Bagel Related Injuries. How? Slicing one across while nested in your palm, that’s how. The third will be chilies, and though it’s not injury as such, do NOT pick your nose after slicing chili peppers. Or, God forbid, rub your eyes.

I have never been attacked by an avocado or a bagel and have only had a few chili nose episodes (scratching – ladies don’t pick their noses). But I’ve certainly had my share of cuts, burns and bangs on open cupboard doors. Kitchen is a dangerous place. Sharp age-restricted tools aplenty: knives and baker’s lames and the deadliest of all, the mandolin. I’ve lost a couple of fingertips to it as I recklessly don’t use the guard and often forget to wear my special chainmail gloves. I don’t like the grater, either, as it maliciously seems to attack me when I sport freshly manicured nails.

Ovens – where to start? I’ve admittedly not done what The Weather Man recently did: joyfully grabbed a pan just out of the oven with his bare hands. Poor thing. There was a lot of dancing around the kitchen and very bad language. I tend to go for the racks in the oven myself, and brush my hands against oven sides – they’ve not built one spacious enough for me yet. I find the electric grills particularly nasty, puffing out a fireball aimed at my eyelashes every time I open the door to check things grilling – as you do.

Accidents happen – but would you say chefs, cooks and the rest of the lot are prone to RSI? You wouldn’t, if like me you’re the ignoramus associating RSI with geeks or office workers hunched over a keyboard. It appears – it painfully appeared to me – it’s repetitive stress (durrr!) and anything repetitively stressful can cause micro-injuries aggregating into Big Bad Tendonitis, also interestingly known as golfer's elbow (who knew cooking and golf were related?). Which is what I have.

I’m not shutting up shop, worry not, but there are some things I do not handle well: squeezy bottles for instance; goodbye, ketchup. The childproof tops which you press down and turn are completely out of bounds. I can’t pull triggers, which is good news as I wasn’t going to shoot anyone, but it means no garlic pressing either. And I don’t drain heavy pans so no more boiled potatoes or veg – unless turning them into soup.

People tell me it’s nothing, I should get myself lots of gadgets that will do heavy work for me. Oh yes? A pan draining gadget? Even Rhik Samadder wouldn’t find one if he tried. My physio says to cut down on stirring, just turn the heat down – I would NOT want to taste her risotto even if starving. No – I need an assistant! a kitchen maid! several commis! Sadly, The Weather Man has a day job though he’s always willing to wash up. Or he's coming in to do the washing up just as I’m drying the last spoon.

I’ll survive – I’m a tough cookie (unlike these), I treat ailments by waiting for them to go away which usually works, eventually. Strong painkillers is what I need. Or, to lessen the pain, I'll make like Julia Child who liked cooking with wine…

I enjoy cooking with wine. Sometimes, I even put it in the food . . . Julia Child

 

Recent blog posts

Tue, 16 January, 2018 Diets on hold: time for twinkling lights and brandy butter.

Fri, 24 November, 2017 Eating nose-to-tail - make mine a steak.

Thu, 23 November, 2017 Eat yourself to sleep - or not, actually.

Fri, 15 September, 2017 Everything in moderation - damn hard to achieve where food is concerned.

Sun, 13 August, 2017 Food on screen: they never eat properly on TV.

Wed, 5 July, 2017 Summer gluttony: does food always taste better when we're on holidays?

Thu, 18 May, 2017 Taste, likes and dislikes - unique to first world?

Wed, 19 April, 2017 Spring is here and so is spring food.

Mon, 3 April, 2017 Signature dish? I want to cook everything well!

Fri, 3 March, 2017 British strawberries in March? I think I'll wait till May.

Fri, 17 February, 2017 Making birthday cakes is fun, unless it all goes terribly wrong.

Fri, 3 February, 2017 Munching, grazing - why do we stuff our faces while watching telly?

Fri, 27 January, 2017 Winter warmers: what's the best comfort food when the weather's cold?

Fri, 20 January, 2017 Sugar is the public enemy now. But should we go cold turkey?

Fri, 6 January, 2017 What's really good and bad for us, nutrition-wise?

Thu, 29 December, 2016 Post-Christmas, or how to lose weight on leftovers.

Thu, 15 December, 2016 Post-truth, let's put up more twinkling Christmas lights!

Fri, 9 December, 2016 A cook's block, or how induction is a toy hob.

Fri, 2 December, 2016 Fasting is good, every now and then. It makes us appreciate taste and flavours.

Thu, 24 November, 2016 Boringly tidy or artistically messy in the kitchen? It might be boring, but order helps you focus.

Fri, 11 November, 2016 Gas or electrics - I'm trying hard not to hate my new induction hob.

Fri, 4 November, 2016 New kitchen - caveat emptor, and don't expect a dream come true.

Fri, 28 October, 2016 The rise of the hipster salad.

Fri, 21 October, 2016 No kitchen for two months - what shall I cook first in the new one?

Fri, 14 October, 2016 Cooking is easier, cheaper and more varied than eating out.

Wed, 5 October, 2016 Kitchen designers - my own Great Kitchen Design Off.

Tue, 27 September, 2016 Life without kitchen. Or bathroom, most of the time.

Wed, 21 September, 2016 British cakes - let's not forget the classics.

Thu, 15 September, 2016 Going out for breakfast? Just don't order scrambled eggs.

Wed, 7 September, 2016 Great British Bake Off - now I know why I'd never watched it.

Wed, 31 August, 2016 Eating out: posh nosh or good & simple? I go for value these days.

Thu, 10 August, 2017 Eat food. Not too much. Some of it raw.

Thu, 11 August, 2016 Is a steam oven THE must-have appliance? I'll stick to my stock pot with a steamer insert.

Thu, 4 August, 2016 How to lose weight: the Food Fascist and I

Thu, 28 July, 2016 Eating whilst sprawled on the sofa? Not for me.

Thu, 21 July, 2016 How to live and what to eat on a building site.

Thu, 14 July, 2016 Weird dietary trends - the pseudo-nutritional nonsense

Fri, 8 July, 2016 What are the most useful tools in cooking and baking life?

Thu, 30 June, 2016 The aftermath of the referendum - time to cook some bacon.

Thu, 23 June, 2016 'Easy recipe' - it's an oxymoron!

Fri, 17 June, 2016 Common currency? Don't know, but I know about Common Food!

Fri, 10 June, 2016 How to NOT EAT - totally non-expert advice on weight loss

Thu, 2 June, 2016 Rain, thunder and floods, but summer berries are arriving

Thu, 26 May, 2016 Pancakes are the nation's favourite food

Tue, 17 May, 2016 Spring is here

Fri, 13 May, 2016 It's a hard life being a food blogger

Fiendishly...